Skip to content Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer



49 New Councillors of Chris Hani District Municipality were sworn in by local Magistrate in Komani at a ceremony held at the Sangringham Sports field on Tuesday 23 August. Cllr Kholiswa Vimbayo was elected Executive Mayor, making her the first ever woman to hold this position in the history of CHDM. She held the position of Mayor at Intsika Yethu Local Municipality from 2011 until 2016. She occupies the position that was formerly held by Cllr Mxolisi Koyo during the past term.

The Executive Mayor announced the new Mayoral Committee comprising of: Engineering Cllr Siyabulela Zangqa. Treasury Cllr Madodonke Papiyana. Integrated Planning and Economic Development Cllr Sibongile Mbotshana. Corporate services Cllr Mthethunzima Jack. Community services Cllr Noncedo September – Capha. Special Programmes Unit Cllr Nonzukiso Matiwana.

The inauguration ceremony was coupled with the seating of the first Council meeting where Cllr Mxolisi Koyo was elected the Speaker. Cllr Bongiwe Van Heerden was elected Chief Whip. The 49 Councillors sworn in include 17 that are directly elected to the CHDM, 6 Traditional Leaders and the rest are representatives from their respective Local Municipalities.

Executive Mayor Vimbayo made an undertaking that as the new Council they would focus on basic services and core function of the District Municipality. “We will do our utmost best that we deliver the services that we are mandated to, by the constitution. We do not want a situation where our people cannot draw water from the taps”, said Vimbayo.