Skip to content Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

New Councillors sworn in at CHDM special council sitting

CHDM Council convened this afternoon at the Disaster Management Boardroom where two resignations were dealt with following the resignation of both Cllr Bongiwe van Heerden the former Chief Whip of Council, and that of Cllr Siyabulela Zangqa a former member of the Mayoral Committee, and Portfolio Head for Infrastructure. The Independent Electoral Commission was notified by the Accounting Officer, Yoliswa Sinyanya, the Acting Municipal Manager, of the vacancies which occurred as a result of these resignations.

When a Councillor resigns, dies, or is expelled, a process of replacement is embarked upon by the political party concerned with the IEC wherein a vacancy is declared and the political party follows the process of replacement.

Cllr Bongiwe van Heerden is now replaced by Cllr Madoda Papiyana while Cllr Siyabulela Zangqa is replaced by Cllr Lizeka Lali. Both Cllrs were sworn in today in a full Council meeting where they affirmed to abide by the Constitution in fulfilling their duties with due diligence.

Cllr Madoda Papiyana also got elected unopposed as the new Chief Whip of Council.

The newly elected Cllrs were welcomed by Cllr Wongama Gela who advised them to equip themselves with the Council Rules of Order

Cllr Papiyana served as Finance Portfolio Head in Enoch Mgijima LM while Cllr Tyali is the former mayor of Engcobo Local Municipality

For further enquiries please contact Ms Lonwabo Kowa at 045 808 9045 alternately email